RRBC’s BETHANY TURNER “PAY IT FORWARD” WEEK! Shirley Harris-Slaughter

The Bethany Turner “Pay It Forward” week is here again, and I was asked to promote an RRBC member I promoted a little while ago. So here is the same blog for your enjoyment!

This week I am participating in the Rave Reviews Book Club’s Bethany Turner “Pay It Forward” week during which RRBC members promote their fellow authors through a club selection process. Well, wasn’t I surprised to learn that I was being promoted by the very member I was asked to promote: Shirley Harris-Slaughter, and on the very same day! I first “met” Shirley by telephone, shortly after I was selected to be the RRBC’s first ever Spotlight Author. Talking to Shirley put me at ease before my podcast interview that was part of the promotion package I received as the first Spotlight Author. I must confess that I was won over even earlier when I saw Shirley’s beautiful smile in her author photo. That smile is symbolic of Shirley’s outreach to fellow authors, and I venture to guess, all the people who are lucky enough to inhabit her every day world. You can help me support Shirley by liking her Facebook page, retweeting my tweet of this post, following Shirley on Twitter and other social media, and buying and reading her book.

Today I “pay it forward” to Shirley Harris-Slaughter. Here she is in her own words.

Shirley Harris-Slaughter

Shirley Harris-Slaughter

My name is Shirley Harris-Slaughter and I’ve been a published author since 2007. My life plans never included becoming a writer. I was urged to write when I realized there were things going on around me, such as my community being shut down everywhere I looked and yet it seemed no one was interested in preserving our history. I never dreamed that I would be the “chosen one” to take on that task, but I was, and so after much research, sleepless nights and being shunned by those who didn’t want me to tell this story, OUR LADY OF VICTORY, THE SAGA OF AN AFRICAN-AMERICAN COMMUNITY was born. Something that started out as just a timeline of events to honor the pioneers of this West Eight Mile Community, turned into a full-blown narrative history.
Like most Indie authors, I was struggling to get even a little recognition in an already over-crowded field. And then, I happened upon the RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB where I served for a short while on the Governing Board as the Newsletter Director. This club is all about supporting and helping authors. RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB is the brainchild of Founder and President, Nonnie Jules. She took the time to read my book and gave it an honest review. Since becoming a part of this awesome organization, I have been blessed with many opportunities which further profiled and brought recognition to my book. I have had such honors as being: the President’s Pick in the online Newsletter, a “WHO’S ON THE SHELF” Interview by Nonnie Jules, a #PUSHTUESDAY win and a week-long “SPOTLIGHT.”
Aside from being an active reader and writer, I am also a community-activist and from time to time, I lend my name to petitions to stop something or another, or I may even pick up the phone to call my elected Representatives, if that’s what it takes to get something accomplished. My latest campaign is about the potholes that are driving us crazy here in Michigan. I personally started a petition drive and am in need of 500+ signatures (preferably from the citizens of our great state) to make an impact. If you can’t sign for that reason, but know someone here in Michigan who can, please share this link:

Thanks for stopping by to learn more about me and you’re welcome back any time. You never know what I might have going on next!

Slaughter CoverImage
OUR LADY OF VICTORY – The Saga of an African American Catholic Community is a compilation of memories, records, photos and interviews. The author recalls growing up in the legacy of Mother Anna Bates.
Follow the tale of the infamous wall…built to separate blacks from white residents and how it almost impeded the development of the area. It’s the story of a thriving Catholic community in spite of regressive government policies; on the verge of developing strong Catholic roots but doesn’t quite make it.
This is the Saga of an African-American Catholic Community. Don’t run from the information housed inside the covers of this book because the mere mention of black and white being divided makes you uncomfortable. Run towards this historical narrative because, whether black or white, yellow or brown, if we don’t know the history, we are surely destined to repeat it! I dare you to read this book and walk away unmoved!

Tags: , , ,

About jsherwin2013

Jennie has a bachelor’s degree in English and a master’s degree in counseling. She is the author of Intentional Healing: One Woman’s Path to Higher Consciousness and Freedom from Environmental and Other Chronic Illnesses and is a contributing writer to Conscious Life News. She has been a teacher of English on the junior high school and senior high school levels, as well as a writer and editor in the field of public health. She has mentored writers and editors. She is certified in Reiki I and II and has studied energy therapies at A Healing Place in Richardson, Texas, working under the direction of Deborah Singleton and her healing team. Jennie also acknowledges the guidance of Christine Gregg, Australian spirit reader and healer, and Maya Page, intuitive healer, Reiki Master, and VortexHealing® practitioner, now retired. Jennie lives in Baltimore, Maryland, with her husband, Roger, a retired physician and epidemiologist. They provide editorial services to university researchers in the fields of medicine and public health. Her son, Colin, lives and works in New York City with his wife, Colleen.

5 responses to “RRBC’s BETHANY TURNER “PAY IT FORWARD” WEEK! Shirley Harris-Slaughter”

  1. reviewsbynonnie says :

    Hi, Jennie! I was tickled to find today that you were promoting Shirley and she was promoting you! How awesome (and how funny) is that? Well, you two do a really good job for each other, OK? As I know you will.

    Good luck spreading the word of Shirley Harris-Slaughter today, who by the way, just published a new book called “CRAZY, HOT & LIVING ON THE EDGE” which you guys can snag a copy of on Amazon!

    Enjoy!

    ~ Nonnie Jules
    http://www.RaveReviewsByNonnieJules.wordpress.com
    http://www.BooksByNonnie.wordpress.com
    http://www.nonniewrites.wordpress.com

  2. jsherwin2013 says :

    I was so surprised by our selections of each other, but I was very happy to be promoting Shirley today. She had a part in my wonderful introduction to Rave Reviews Book Club. Shirley served on the RRBC Board when Kathryn was Membership Director, so Shirley will always be in my fond memories of RRBC and Kathryn. Thanks, Nonnie, for establishing a wonderful group. Jennie

  3. Shirley Harris-Slaughter says :

    WOW! I didn’t know that you got me Jennie in the selection process. This is so wierd or is it Karma? I am speechless right now. What are the odds of this? Gotta love it! Thank you so much for promoting me too. lol

    • jsherwin2013 says :

      LOL to you, Shirley. And thanks for promoting me today!

      • Shirley Harris-Slaughter says :

        I tweeted, facebooked, google+ Linkedin, shared, retweeted anything and everything I could do to keep you alive in cyberspace. You know its not easy trying to get the word out but we do the best we can. They told me we had to do this all day and I have been able to keep up in between everything else on my plate. Its been a wild day but a fun day. I love what you found out about me. I hadn’t read this piece in quite sometime. I wrote some head-turning stuff. Just glad I could get a conversation going and being in RRBC has accomplished that. Thanks so much Jennie. I appreciate you. When I see you, I think of my dear friend Kathryn. She will be sincerely missed.

Leave a Reply

