From Rave Reviews Book Club: Katie Hayoz

Sharing with you Rave Reviews Book Club 2nd “SPOTLIGHT” AUTHOR, KATIE HAYOZ!!!

That Novel Will Never Be Perfect

From Katie Hayoz

Image

I’m not a perfectionist.  Little mistakes don’t bother me.  But when it comes to my writing, I take pride in what I do and I want what I put out there to be not just decent, but good.  I rewrote Untethered at least eighteen times.  Literally.  And I’m talking full-on, rip-it-up and make do with the shreds kind of rewriting, not moving sentences around. What started as a five page story ended up (20 years later) to be a 340 page novel.  That novel went through so many critiquing sessions and beta readers that I was sure it would be perfection by the time it was published.

Ha.  Not quite.

Writing is art, and like all art there is a point where the person creating the work just has to stop. She just has to tell herself that particular piece is the best she can make it right then.  That’s the sticker: right then.  Because the truth is that you can always go back and make it better.  There will always be holes you missed or mistakes you made or words that paint a clearer picture.  But if you keep going back and going back and going back you never move on.  Never get on to the next book; the one that first one prepared you for.

My dad paints watercolor. I can’t tell you the number of times he’s looked at a picture of his, already framed and on the wall, and said, “Why did I think this was finished? This whole section could use reworking.”  My mom rolls her eyes.  I understand.  I totally do.

But there was a point when I just had to quit trying to make Untethered perfect.   A point where my writing group and my family and friends said, “Stop already!”  So I did.  I’m proud of this novel — the characters, the world, the writing itself.  However, that didn’t keep me from face-palming myself after its publication.  There were things that I see now that I couldn’t see then.  It kills me.  And yet…

And yet I could go in, change it all and six months from now I’d be face-palming myself again.  So, I’ve left it as is.  I’ve moved onto another novel.  It’s finished; sort of.  I’ve done three drafts – three pick away the fleshy parts and gnaw on the bone drafts.  I’ll rewrite it one more time. Then I’ll need to tell myself, “Stop already!  That novel will never be perfect.”

But I’m hoping it will be damn good.

*Katie Hayoz was born in Racine, WI, USA but ended up in Geneva, Switzerland, where she lives with her husband, two daughters, and two fuzzy cats. She devours YA novels like she does popcorn and black licorice: quickly and in large quantities.

Untethered is a paranormal coming of age novel that follows 16-year-old Sylvie on a unique and slightly sinister journey of self-acceptance. Sylvie has an ability to leave her physical body and astral project. While it could be akin to a superpower, she sees it as a curse.  That is, until the day she decides to play with its dark side. Sylvie then sets an evil plan in motion that she believes will change her life for the better.  But she does not count on it spiraling out of control.

Connect with Katie

On her website: www.katiehayoz.com

On Twitter: www.twitter.com/katiehayoz

On Facebook: www.facebook.com/katiehayoz.author

Buy Untethered on Amazon: http://amzn.to/ZH2qzY

(Thank you to Rave Reviews Book Club and all the members who so generously agreed to host me on their site!)

RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB is pleased to announce a new Facebook “Question of the Day!” In an online Scavenger Hunt, participants will need to find the daily answer SOMEWHERE on the many Blog Tour Host sites! Please LIKE our FB page and play along:
Katie’s questions & answers on THIS site:
 
RRBC What can you tell us about what we’ll see from you next?
Katie HayozI’ve just finished a dark fantasy – the first of my Roanoke series called “The Mask Between Us.”  It explores degrees of evil, the depth of love, the lure of revenge and scarcity of redemption.
RRBC:  Rave Reviews Book Club has a mission to help Indie Authors get reviews.  Why are reviews so important to an author?
Katie Hayoz:  I think reviews play a good part in the discoverability of an author.  It helps with word-of-mouth, and it gives an author credibility.
Thanks to all my readers for stopping by supporting Katie Hayoz!  She’s cute as a button, isn’t she?  And a talent in the writing department as well.  Please visit ALL Blog Tour hosts found on RaveReviewsByNonnieJules “Spotlight Authors” Page!

Image

Tags: , , ,

About jsherwin2013

Jennie has a bachelor’s degree in English and a master’s degree in counseling. She is the author of Intentional Healing: One Woman’s Path to Higher Consciousness and Freedom from Environmental and Other Chronic Illnesses and is a contributing writer to Conscious Life News. She has been a teacher of English on the junior high school and senior high school levels, as well as a writer and editor in the field of public health. She has mentored writers and editors. She is certified in Reiki I and II and has studied energy therapies at A Healing Place in Richardson, Texas, working under the direction of Deborah Singleton and her healing team. Jennie also acknowledges the guidance of Christine Gregg, Australian spirit reader and healer, and Maya Page, intuitive healer, Reiki Master, and VortexHealing® practitioner, now retired. Jennie lives in Baltimore, Maryland, with her husband, Roger, a retired physician and epidemiologist. They provide editorial services to university researchers in the fields of medicine and public health. Her son, Colin, lives and works in New York City with his wife, Colleen.

5 responses to “From Rave Reviews Book Club: Katie Hayoz”

  1. Kathryn Chastain Treat says :

    Jennie – Thank you for sharing Katie’s wonderful honor with your readers Congratulations Katie.

  2. Shirley L. Slaughter says :

    Kathryn I took you up on your offer to stop by. Nice site and Katie’s book and picture display so beautifully and big. Thank you Jennie for inviting us over and for supporting someone who shares your honors. Now you two have the distinction of being the first in a long line of winners to come. Congratulations!!

  3. jsherwin2013 says :

    Shirley: Thanks for stopping by. I am so happy to be supporting Katie and the Rave Reviews Book Club. What a congenial group! Congratulations to Katie and to Rave Reviews!

  4. Danica Cornell (@DanicaCornell) says :

    Hi Jennie…oh my goodness…it’s so wonderful of you to share Katie’s post…thank you! And congratulations to Katie Hayoz for being nominated as Rave Reviews’ second SPOTLIGHT AUTHOR! Best wishes for your continued success! xoxo

Leave a Reply

